Learning to Expect the Best

This will be a very short post, but I just want to say how encouraged I've been recently about how kind and patient most people are when I get stuck on a word. I don't mention this to in any way ask for sympathy, but because it has taught me so much about my perceptions of others. I think that sometimes all the negativity in the world leads us to believe that most people will be rude and impatient, but that is just not true.

Just in the past two days, I have struggled in front of two different cashiers; and both of them responded with nothing but patience and kindness. One even brightly smiled at me the whole time. Yes, I know that my stutter may show me the worst in someone one day, and in that moment I will have to rely on God's grace to help me. But for now, I am going to be grateful for how my stutter often reveals the best in others and teaches me to always look for the best.

Perceptions are often wrong. There are still nice people in this world. Always give someone a chance to prove that. ❤️

Much love, Makenzie

Leave a Reply

