Why I Write about My Stutter

Last year, when I finally found the courage to start talking about my stutter openly, I really worried that people would think I was seeking attention, asking for pity, or even somehow using my stutter as a source of pride. I know that might sound weird, but I tend to overthink everything. That is probably one of my greatest weaknesses. Sometimes, I become so paranoid about what others may think that I miss important opportunities that the Lord tries to give me. To this day, conflict clouds my heart every time I sit down to write a new blog post, because I do not want this to be about me. I want this to be about my amazing God and what He has done in my life!  God is the One Who gave me this passion for writing, and I desire to use it for Him. However, I also want to be relatable to my readers by writing about personal experiences. There is such a fine balance to maintain.

So…why?  Why did I spend several days building a blog? Why do I sometimes spend hours at a computer writing a new article or a new blog post? Why do I talk about my stutter so much? For years, I kept my voice under lock and key. Speaking out about my stutter just wasn’t an option. Nobody-absolutely nobody-could know that I was different, except for my closest family members. Instead of letting other people help me, I carried the weight on my own. Until one day, I realized that God doesn’t want us to go through this life alone. Consumed by my own insecurity, I was neglecting others. I was missing opportunities. I wasn’t being all that God made me to be.

I couldn’t see around the impenetrable walls I had built around my heart.

I write, and I write, and I write because it takes away all of the fear and anxiety that results from keeping everything locked up in my heart. It brings peace and acceptance. If I’m afraid of my stutter, other people will be afraid of it too and won’t know how to react. In addition, writing about my stutter has made me realize how I can use this struggle to help other people. I write because I want to encourage others to embrace who God has made them to be. I write because I don’t want people to be afraid of being different, because different is so special. Most of all, I write because I want the world to know that God is good and that He can help us overcome anything in this life.

Talking openly about my stutter has torn down the walls.  When the walls finally came down, I could start seeing the world again. I could start seeing others. A new light came pouring into my heart, showing me what a gift my stutter could be if I would just let it. Writing about my stutter has truly changed my life.

Is there an insecurity in your life that you are afraid to talk about? Start tearing down those walls with God’s strength, and let the light in.

Much love, Makenzie

 

Leave a Reply

