Baby Steps

Tonight, I would just like to thank God for His help. Last Wednesday, I advocated completely for myself for the first time in years. It felt so AMAZING! I had taken my glasses to the eye center inside Walmart to get some things fixed. The whole way there, my mind and my voice argued about whether I could do this. I would have to walk up to the counter and explain why I was there and exactly what I needed.  As we walked inside, my body went into the usual anxiety mode. My hands were sweating, and my heart was racing. Of course, I could ask my mom to say everything for me, but this inner voice kept telling me, “How will you ever improve if you never try?”  So I took a deep breath, walked up to the lady at the counter, and started speaking. For the first time in so long, I was speaking completely for myself. Before I knew it, I had said everything I needed to with surprising fluency. I whispered a silent prayer of thanks to God as the doctor took my glasses away to fix them.

Before we can overcome anything in life, we must have the courage to take those first tiny baby steps. We must risk failure and rejection. Something as simple as walking up to a counter and asking someone to fix my glasses was one of those steps for me. If we never push ourselves past our comfort zones, we can’t ever improve. What step is God asking you to take today?

There are times in my life that I wish I could just wake up one morning, climb a mountain, and shout out everything that’s in my heart with perfect fluency. However, the truth is that overcoming any kind of disability takes lots of work. It takes ambition, perseverance, patience, and faith in God. Most of all, it requires a hopeful heart and a resilient spirit that never-EVER- gives up. 

2 thoughts on “Baby Steps

Leave a Reply

