A Confidence That Lasts

Are you confident? I mean…truly and biblically confident? Often, the phrase Be Confident is used in motivational speeches to make us all feel better about ourselves. But, God is teaching me that He never intended for us to be confident in ourselves. He made us to be confident in Him. Confidence in ourselves will wash away like sand on the seashore, but confidence in Christ will endure through the most tempestuous storm. What’s really amazing is that confidence in Christ will usher in a greater sense of self-worth as we realize how precious we are to Him. Proverbs 3:26 says, “For the LORD shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.” Dear Lord, I don’t want a confidence that fades away. I want Your confidence, a confidence that lasts.

When we trust in ourselves, we fail miserably. If I draw all of my confidence from my own heart, I will find myself weak and depleted. The Bible says that we are all sinners, saved by His marvelous grace. Because of our sin, we have afflictions and imperfections that rend us incapable of living this life on our own. We must draw our confidence from a much deeper well. We must draw from the heart of God, where we find our true self-worth. Looking into myself, I find a dry well filled with brokenness and insecurity. I find a wandering heart and a stuttering tongue. Looking into God’s heart, I find a well overflowing with glorious love and amazing grace to mend the broken pieces. This is all I need to live a confident, victorious life.

My early teen years were an absolute roller coaster. . .a rough roller coaster! My deep longing for approval and affirmation eventually left me drowning in insecurity. I could never be enough, do enough, or look pretty enough. My stutter, especially, made me feel like an outsider, even though no one ever treated me differently. I tried (and failed) to be what other people wanted me to be, and in my attempts to make other people like me, I forgot who I was.  Most of all, I forgot who Christ said I was. The truth is that I was looking for confidence in all the wrong places.

To this day, I still struggle with finding all of my confidence in Jesus Christ, but I am so glad to know that He never gives up on me. My friend, He never gives up on you. He is still working on us, day by day, to make us who He wants us to be. If you are tired of feeling “not good enough,” look up. Look to Jesus, and He will fill your heart to the brim. Hold your head high, because Christ has lavished His love on you! Most importantly, have confidence in the new life He has given you. The life that He gives will never run dry, no matter what. “But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

