Lessons from a Daycare Center

Last summer, I had the wonderful opportunity to volunteer at a local daycare center. It was an experience I will never forget.  Over time, I grew to love the kids I worked with each week and cherished every moment with them. What I am most thankful for though is the invaluable lessons I learned there. Those sweet little kids taught me so much about myself, about others, and about life. Here is just a glimpse of what God taught me through this experience:

  • Show kindness to everyone you meet. . .pure, sacrificial kindness. I saw some of the most amazing acts of kindness at the daycare center. Every week, at least one little one came up to me and sweetly said, “Miss Kenzie, I drew a picture for you.” I saw kids give up their toys to someone who didn’t have any. It was so beautiful!
  • Hug your loved ones often. . .just because. From my experience, kids are masterful huggers! They would would come up to me and give me a great big hug for no reason at all. It melted my heart every time!
  • Forgive quickly and love unconditionally, even when someone steals your favorite toy. I was truly convicted by how quickly  kids let things go. In my own life, I know that I could have saved myself so much heartache by forgiving and forgetting. These kids truly loved without limits! They loved others no matter what. They loved me even though I stuttered sometimes because they didn’t see my flaws. They only saw ME. What would the world be like if we loved others for their  uniqueness as a person, not for their outward appearance?
  • Enjoy the little things in life, and smile often. It has been said that a child’s laughter is one of the most beautiful sounds in the world. I could not agree more! If they got something special for eating everything on their plate, their faces would light up with a contagious joy. Sometimes, they smiled so big that their eyes almost disappeared. Wouldn’t it be amazing if we all had childlike joy?
  • Be a friend, especially to that girl sitting by herself on the playground.
  • Dream big, because nothing is impossible! One little boy told me he wanted to be superman someday, while another kid said she wanted to be a pirate. Their faith and endless imagination is so inspiring. One day, while I was pushing a little boy on the swing set, he exclaimed, “I went so high that I almost touched the sky!”

Do you feel as motivated as I do by their example? Let’s all strive to be kind, to love unconditionally and forgive quickly, to enjoy life, to be a friend, and to dream big.

~Makenzie

2 thoughts on “Lessons from a Daycare Center

  1. Great insights! You do an amazing job of observing the world, learning from your experiences, and articulating what you’ve leaned so that others can reflect and grow too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

